Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

Sobre los premios

The Premios internacionales del orgullo is a joint initiative by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and ILGA World. Through an annual awards process, it seeks to honor the efforts of LGBTIQ+ equality heroes from all over the world who are doing remarkable work to improve the lives of LGBTIQ+ people and advocate for their rights

All countries are obligated to promote and protect the human rights of all persons without discrimination. However, hundreds of millions of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, and queer (LGBTIQ+) people still face discrimination, rejection, poverty, violence, prison, torture, and even death—simply for being who they are. The International Pride Awards aims to shine a light on the work of brave and visionary equality heroes, tell their stories, and inspire more people to advocate for equality

The 2024 International Pride Awards ceremony will be held in Cape Town, South Africa, on 13 November 2024. During this event, five LGBTIQ+ equality heroes from around the world will be recognized for their incredible work in making a difference

You can participate by nominating your LGBTIQ+ equality hero. Public nominations are now open and will close on 30 June. Visit the official website to find out more about the nomination process

The 2024 award categories include:

  • Movement Building in the Face of Hostility: Recognizing individuals or organizations that mobilize for change and positively impact LGBTIQ+ lives despite a hostile and risky environment.
  • Celebrando vidas diversas: Championing protection, freedom, and equality for trans, gender-diverse, and intersex people.
  • Emerging Leader: Honoring emerging leaders in the field of LGBTIQ+ equality.

Equality is everyone’s responsibility. It starts with everyday actions—being inclusive, listening, sharing, and advocating. You can also contact your local organización local miembro de la ILGA to find out how you can help


Anyone can be nominated as long as they meet the published nominee criteria, which can be found on the International Pride Awards website.

Anyone can nominate someone, but the nominator must also meet the nominator criteria which are also available on the website.

Yes, you can nominate more than one person, but you should complete a separate online form for each nominee.

After you submit a nomination, the International Pride Awards team will try to verify the information. They will not reveal any information about the nominations themselves.

Yes, your information and the nominee's information will be kept confidential. They will not reveal any information about the nominations.

You can indicate your safety concerns in your submission form.

The Awards Committee will base their decisions on the evaluation criteria described on the International Pride Awards website. These criteria likely outline aspects they consider when selecting awardees.

Awardees will be announced on November 13, 2024.

Privacy, Terms and Conditions

Your privacy is important to us. When you nominate an equality hero, we collect only the necessary information for the nomination process. This includes the nominee’s name, their work, and your contact details. We do not share this information with third parties without your consent. For more details, please refer to our Política de privacidad on the official website.

By participating in the awards, you agree to the following terms and conditions:

  • Nominations must be submitted by the specified deadline.
  • Nominees must consent to their nomination.
  • The judging process is fair and impartial.
  • Winners will be announced during the awards ceremony.
  • For a detailed list of terms and conditions, please visit the official website.

You can reach out to us via email at Feel free to ask any questions or seek assistance related to nominations, event details, or general inquiries.